Winter Residents at Home

Today I sat out back watched the feeders for birds.  We’ve got most of our winter residents back and I wanted to see if they were coming to the feeders.  There is still a lot of natural food around still and the winter residents will be preoccupied with seeds, berries, nuts, acorns, and bugs that are still around.  Over the last couple of days our home has had several Dark-eyed Juncos, White-throated Sparrows, Yellow-rumped Warblers, and Golden-crowned Kinglets.  The Juncos come to seed that I put out but very few other visitors, whether year round or winter, have come to my offerings.

Today I was without binoculars and camera so I used my phone and scope.  Several of us had been wanting to dabble with videos and today I decided to take the leap.  So far it has been like pulling teeth trying to get the video from my phone to this blog.

I waited for a good shot of a bird that I figured would sit still for a long time.  This never happened.  The best I could come up with was a female Junco in one of the feeders.  It was a close shot and the bird stayed there for at least 5 minutes.  However, I filmed the bird through the bottom screen of the feeder.  I think the junco is actually an Oregon subspecies but the quality of the video is fairly low.  Around the junco were more juncos and chickadees.  Golden-crowned Kinglets were heard but not picked up very well on the video.  Chickadee vocalizations were picked up pretty well though.

After filming I continued to watch the birds around the feeders and got a few flyovers from bluebirds and a yellow-rumped.  As I got up to leave, I noticed a Mourning Dove preening in the top of a hickory and I got a silhouette pic of it through the scope.  It had probably been there the whole time and I just never noticed it.

Mourning Dove silhouette

Mourning Dove silhouette

Leave a Reply

