Where are the Winter Ducks?

I am writing this on Halloween and as of today I have seen no newly arrived wintering ducks this season.  To be honest, haven’t seen a year-round Wood Duck in a couple of months.  Now I wonder whimsically if the ducks have taken up Halloween as a holiday and disguised themselves.  The coots, grebes, cormorants, pelicans, etc are out in full force on the waters.  I usually by now have seen at least a Bufflehead or some Ruddy Ducks.  I haven’t seen any Blue-winged Teals migrating through this fall.  I’m sure a trip to Stuttgart would yield several different species but I don’t have the time.  The season is still early though.  During this winter I hope to see every species commonly seen in Arkansas.  This feat requires persistence more than any thing else.  I completed this task last winter but only by going out time and time again to the same spot.

by SM

My goal is to get all of these (21 total):

  • Trumpeter Swan
  • Greater White-fronted Goose
  • Snow Goose
  • Ross’ Goose
  • Wood Duck (actually is year round)
  • Mallard
  • Northern Pintail
  • Gadwall
  • American Wigeon (not as common as it may appear)
  • Northern Shoveler
  • Blue-winged Teal (common fall migrant)
  • Green-winged Teal
  • Canvasback
  • Redhead (like the wigeon, I struggle with this one)
  • Ring-necked Duck
  • Lesser Scaup
  • Greater Scaup
  • Common Goldeneye
  • Bufflehead
  • Hooded Merganser
  • Ruddy Duck

Here are some rare ones I hope to pick up on the way to my goal:

  • Cackling Goose
  • Mottled Duck
  • American Black Duck
  • Long-tailed Duck
  • White-winged Scoter
  • Surf Scoter
  • Black Scoter
  • Common Merganser
  • Red-breasted Merganser

DMan

Leave a Reply

