Delaware Recreational Area 10/30/12

by DM

This morning I went out to Delaware Recreational Area which is on Lake Dardanelle which is off of Highway 22 in Logan County (even though Delaware RA is in Yell County).  The area is a Corps of Engineers park with a boat ramp and a few campsites.  It isn’t much but its right beside the lake and a lot of good birds can be seen there.  Every year rare gulls are reported from this spot and this is one of the few places I go where I can consistently find Herring Gulls (I did not see any today).  There are a lot of different habitats with some overlapping.  Just before entering the actual park, there are some open fields.  Than there is a wooded part with fairly thick undergrowth.  Then you get to the campground where there are open areas with an occasional pine on the lake side and thicker woods (mostly coniferous) on the other.  On the banks of the lake, in some areas, there are reeds and grasses.  I was hoping to find some sparrows and ducks, maybe even a Bald Eagle.  I picked up a few birds just before the park including bluebirds and crows.  Once in the wooded part, Titmice, chickadees, both kinglets, creepers, downy and red-bellied woodpeckers were heard.  I walked toward the water at the first campsites and tried to get a few pictures of the hundreds of coots that were there but they flew off.  Out on the water I could see Ring-billed Gulls, Great Blue Heron, Pied-billed Grebes, Pelican, and Cormorants.  I walked along the bank to where there were more reeds and immediately heard a Song Sparrow.  I walked up and saw it sitting in a short tree calling.  I got a few pictures than moved on to some thicker brush.  Cardinals,
Carolina Wrens, and more chickadees were heard.  As I was walking back I heard a harsh “chek”-ing call from a sparse group of reeds.  I assumed it was a Red-winged Blackbird but as I approached a small bird popped up to check out the intruder.  After I took a few pictures and watched it tarry to and fro I concluded that it was a Marsh Wren (a lifer).  Then I went back and checked the Sedge Wren just to make sure.  I was very happy to see it but I wonder if it will stay for the Marsh Wren’s northernmost winter range is southern Arkansas.  I drove on up to check for any Herring Gulls among the droves of Ring-billed but I couldn’t find any.  On the way out, in the fields outside the park, I saw an American Kestrel and heard some Eastern Meadowlarks.

by DM

Here is this morning’s list:

  • Canada Goose
  • Pied-billed Grebe
  • American White Pelican
  • Double-crested Cormorant
  • Great Blue Heron
  • Turkey Vulture
  • American Coot
  • Ring-billed Gull
  • Red-bellied Woodpecker
  • Downy Woodpecker
  • Northern Flicker
  • American Kestrel
  • American Crow
  • Carolina Chickadee
  • Tufted Titmouse
  • Brown Creeper
  • Ruby-crowned Kinglet
  • Golden-crowned Kinglet
  • Carolina Wren
  • Marsh Wren
  • Eastern Bluebird
  • Song Sparrow
  • Northern Cardinal
  • Eastern Meadowlark
  • American Goldfinch

by DM

Leave a Reply

